Building Standards Board

Board Description
Board Composition:The Building Standards Board (BSB) is a quasi-judicial, Citizen-based board and has 14 members appointed by City Council: 10 District Appointed Members appointed by their respective Councilmembers and four (4) At-Large Members. Members serve overlapping two-year terms of office and there is no limit on the number of terms that may be served.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:District; At-Large
Categories:The Board is comprised of the following categories: Architect, Engineer, General Contractor, Social Worker, Health Care Professional, Retired Individual (over the age of 64), and a Veteran of the United States Military. A Professional Property Manager may be substituted for one (1) General Contractor and/or one (1) Social Worker.
Mission/Purpose:The mission of the BSB is to partner with the community to build and maintain a safer San Antonio. The BSB addresses cases related to Dangerous Structures and properties that are in violation of the San Antonio Property Maintenance Code (SAPMC). The Board also hears appeals from property owners that have received SAPMC Notices of Violation, as well as summary abatements. The Board rules on issues of interpretation, intent, and application of code requirements.
Meeting Schedule & Location:Each panel holds a hearing twice per month unless otherwise indicated. Meeting dates are the first and third Thursdays for Panel A, and the second and fourth Thursdays for Panel B. Meetings are held at the Cliff Morton Development and Business Services Center, located at 1901 S. Alamo St., at 9:00 a.m. Please contact the BSB Board Liaison for more information.
Website Information:For more information, please visit
Ordinance/Articles of Incorporation/By Laws:2011-05-05-0354

Liaison: Judy Croom - (210) 207-5422

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. David D Garza District 103/17/202205/31/2023
Ms. Evelyn Brown District 201/01/201205/31/2023
Mr. Frederick A. Andis District 304/28/201605/31/2025
Dr. Erlinda Lopez-Rodriguez District 412/01/202205/31/2025
Ms. Kayla G. Miranda District 512/02/202105/31/2025
Mr. Jesse Zuniga Jr.District 601/01/201205/31/2025
Mr. Paul Duke Hernandez District 708/31/202305/31/2025
Ms. Celencia Hayes District 810/31/201905/31/2023
Col. Dewayne Nelson District 901/28/201605/31/2025
Mr. Joel Garza Solis District 1008/03/202305/31/2025
Mr Robert Tapia At Large10/31/201905/31/2023
Mr. Shirish S. Gupte At Large03/17/202205/31/2023
Vacancy At Large  05/31/2023
Ms Ann Hoffman Winer At Large03/17/202205/31/2023

Total Members for Building Standards Board: 14 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version