Climate Ready - Climate Equity Advisory Committee

Board Description
Board Composition:The Mayor and City Council shall appoint members, recommended by the City Manager and the Office of Sustainability. The Climate Equity Advisory Committee is comprised of 11 Members total: 10 At-Large Members and 1 Chair or Vice-Chair of the SA Climate Ready Technical & Community Advisory Committee. All are voting members and serve 2-year terms. NOTE: Por favor, póngase en contacto con la Oficina de Sustentabilidad al 210.207.6103 o si necesita ayuda al llenar la solicitud, o si desea una copia de la solicitud en Español.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:At-Large
Categories:The Committee will be made up of representatives from community based organizations and other key stakeholders representing the interests of low-income populations, communities of color, and other vulnerable populations. Preferred expertise: Social Justice, Environmental Justice, Climate, and Racial Justice, Affordable Housing and Houselessness/Homelessness, Public Health, Food Security, Disability and Mobility Justice, Immigrant Rights, Educational Attainment, Small Business, and Workforce Development. Members shall serve two-year terms, for a maximum of two consecutive terms, or a total of four years. Terms are coterminous with Council. No member may be appointed to the Committee should their service exceed four full years. Chair and Vice Chair serve one-year terms. The Chair and Vice Chair are not limited on number of terms served as Chair and Vice Chair; however, they must comply with the overall maximum terms for members of the Committee.
Mission/Purpose:The mission of the SA Climate Ready Climate Equity Advisory Committee includes advising City staff and City Council on the advancement of equity-centered implementation of the SA Climate Ready Plan and long-term sustainability plans, such as the SA Tomorrow Sustainability Plan.
Meeting Schedule & Location:Meetings are held on the first Monday of every other month from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm. The meetings may take place virtually and in-person and are held in the San Antonio River Authority Boardroom and Council Briefing Room.
Website Information:For more information, please visit and
Ordinance/Articles of Incorporation/By Laws:Ordinance 2019-10-17-0840
Ordinance 2019-12-12-1066
SA Climate Ready: A Pathway for Climate Action and Adaptation

Liaison: Leslie Antunez - (210) 207-6323

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. Aaron Michael Arguello At Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Ms. Melissa Bryant At Large10/08/202105/31/2021
Dr. Adelita Gonzales Cantu PhD,RNAt Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Mr. Jesus Garcia-Gonzalez At Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Ms Harjot Kaur At Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Ms. Diana Elisa Lopez Perez At Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Dr. Joseph "Joe" M. Simpson At Large10/08/202005/31/2021
Vacancy At Large  05/31/2021
Vacancy At Large  05/31/2021
Vacancy At Large  05/31/2021
Vacancy At Large  05/31/2021

Total Members for Climate Ready - Climate Equity Advisory Committee: 11 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version