Community Action Advisory Board

Board Description
Board Composition:The Community Action Advisory Board is a federally mandated tripartite board comprised of 15 members as follows: • (5) Representatives of the Low Income Individuals and Families • (5) Representatives of Organizations • (5) Elected Officials to include 4 City Council Members appointed by the Mayor, and 1 County Commissioner appointed by the County Judge. The City of San Antonio, Department of Human Services (DHS) is the designated Community Action Agency and the Community Services Block Grant eligible entity for Bexar County. DHS has operated the Community Action Program (CAP) since 1979. The Community Action Advisory Board acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council on the operation of the Community Action Program, and oversees the extent and quality of services for low income individuals and families.
Appointed by:
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:
Meeting Schedule & Location:
Website Information:

Liaison: Minerva Hernandez - (210) 207-5917

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Ms. Patricio Ortiz Other09/01/201612/31/2019
Councilmember Greg Brockhouse Mayoral06/01/201705/31/2019
Councilmember Shirley Gonzales Mayoral10/03/201305/31/2019
Councilmember Roberto C. Trevino Mayoral06/01/201505/31/2019
Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran Mayoral10/03/201305/31/2019
Ms. Isa Fernandez Other01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. Isa Fernandez Other01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. Holly Frindell Other01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. Lauren Geraghty Other01/01/201512/31/2019
Ms. Nora Lisa Gonzales Other01/01/201612/31/2017
Ms. Carmen Hancock Other09/01/201512/31/2019
Ms. Amanda Kelly Other01/01/201712/31/2019
Ms. Rosalinda Munoz Other04/01/201712/31/2017
Justice Sergio "Chico" Rodriguez Other  05/31/2017
Ms. Dina Elaine Serrano Other04/01/201712/31/2019

Total Members for Community Action Advisory Board: 15 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version