Historic and Design Review Commission

Board Description
Board Composition:The Historic and Design Review Commission (HDRC) consists of 11 Members: 10 District Appointed Members appointed by their respective Councilmembers and one (1) Member appointed by the Mayor. Members serve a two-year term.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:District
Categories:The HDRC Board is comprised of the following categories: Architecture; architectural history; archeaology; historic preservation; landscape architecture; planning; public art; and the general community.
Mission/Purpose:The HDRC reviews projects related to exterior changes to properties individually designated as landmarks within the following areas: A historic district within the City; a River Improvement Overlay(RIO) Districts (including the River Walk); a View Shed Protection district; or a landmark property that is publicly-owned (i.e. libraries, parks, fire stations, etc.) In considering whether to recommend approval or disapproval of an application for a Certificate of Appropriateness, the HDRC is guided by the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation, the City of San Antonio's Unified Development Code, and any additional design guidelines adopted by City Council.
Meeting Schedule & Location:Meetings are held twice a month on the first and third Wednesdays at 3:00 PM at the Cliff Morton Development and Business Services Center Board Room, 1901 South Alamo, 1st Floor.
Website Information:For additional information, please visit: https://www.sanantonio.gov/historic/HDRC
Ordinance/Articles of Incorporation/By Laws:76514

Liaison: Meagan Lozano - (210) 207-7991

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Ms. Monica Savino District 209/02/202105/31/2025
Mrs. Lorraine Roxanne Guzman Castillo District 108/31/202305/31/2025
Mr. Gabriel Q. Velasquez District 308/22/201905/31/2025
Vacancy District 4  05/31/2023
Mr. Roland Garcia Mazuca District 510/21/202105/31/2025
Dr. Homer Guevara JrDistrict 608/31/202305/31/2025
Ms. Anne-Marie Grube District 701/14/201605/31/2025
Mr James H Cervantes District 811/18/202105/31/2025
Mr. Jeffrey Fetzer FAIADistrict 905/31/201805/31/2025
Mr. Andrew Holland District 1008/03/202305/31/2025
Mr. Journel Maurice Gibbs Mayoral10/14/202105/31/2025

Total Members for Historic and Design Review Commission: 11 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version