Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women

Board Description
Board Composition:The Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) is comprised of 11 members: 10 District Appointed Members appointed by their respective Councilmembers and one (1) Member appointed by the Mayor, along with two (2) non-voting Associate Commissioners. Members serve a two-year term of office concurrent with the term of the appointing City Councilmember. A quorum of six (6) voting members is required to conduct business on the Commission's agenda.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:District
Mission/Purpose:The Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) serves to foster a closer relationship and a fuller exchange of ideas between women of respective Districts and City Councilmembers; to further the equal legal, social, political, economic, and educational opportunity and advancement of all women and men; to eliminate discrimination on the basis of sex in all phases of American society; to promote the dissemination of information on employment opportunities for women in the public sectors, and to provide counsel when and if necessary; to encourage women to assume initiative and accept their responsibility in the removal of legal and other barriers to the realization of their basic human rights.
Meeting Schedule & Location:MCSW meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 5:30 pm in the Plaza de Armas Gallery
Website Information:For more information, please contact MCSW Board Liaison Jenny Garcia at (210) 207-8357
Ordinance/Articles of Incorporation/By Laws:Resolution 70-20-25

Liaison: Jenny Garcia - (210) 207-8357

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Ms. Kayla Carter-Moilanen District 106/02/202205/31/2023
Ms. Jennipha L. Ricks District 201/21/202105/31/2023
Mrs. Vanessa Martinez District 309/14/201705/31/2025
Mrs. Maria Fernanda Cardenas District 402/02/202305/31/2023
Mrs. Sara Briseno Gerrish District 509/01/202205/31/2025
Mrs. Larissa Martinez District 608/31/202305/31/2025
Dr. Diana Sanchez Lira District 708/04/202205/31/2023
Vacancy District 8  05/31/2023
Dr. Jacqueline A Pugh District 908/31/202305/31/2025
Mrs Anamaria Suescun-Fast District 1009/14/202305/31/2025
Ms. Mara Posada Mayoral08/31/202305/31/2025

Total Members for Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women: 11 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version