Parks and Recreation Board

Board Description
Board Composition:The Parks and Recreation Board is comprised of 11 members serving two-year terms concurrent with City Council. There is no limit to the number of terms that may be served.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:District
Mission/Purpose:The Parks and Recreation Board serves in an advisory capacity to the community on issues affecting the Parks and Recreation Department. The Board shall, as the voice of the community, advise the Parks and Recreation Department and City Council, regarding community recreational facilities and services, needs and desires and recreation programming. The Board shall promote public awareness to the public recreational facilities and services provided by the City and encourage community participation in those programs.
Meeting Schedule & Location:Board meetings are held on the fourth Monday of every other month beginning at 5:30 PM. Board meetings are held at various locations. Please refer to the posted agenda to obtain the correct meeting location.
Website Information:
Ordinance/Articles of Incorporation/By Laws:29561

Liaison: Cynthia Uribe - (210) 207-8482

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. Erik K. Sanden District 112/01/201605/31/2023
Mrs. Carla D. Walker District 212/03/202005/31/2021
Ms. Lillian Rivera District 312/16/202105/31/2023
Mrs. Mary Kathryn Luna District 409/10/200905/31/2023
Ms. Agapita A Jaramillo District 509/30/202105/31/2023
Mrs. Melinda Smith District 603/29/201805/31/2019
Mr. Alejandro Soto District 708/05/202105/31/2023
Mr. Charles P. Saxer District 803/29/201805/31/2023
Vacancy District 9  05/31/2021
Ms. Allison P. Cohen District 1009/17/201505/31/2021
Ms. Jeanette Honermann Mayoral12/12/201905/31/2023

Total Members for Parks and Recreation Board: 11 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version