VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority

Board Description
Board Composition:The VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees is comprised of 11 members serving staggered two-year terms.
Appointed by:City Council
District; At-Large; Mayoral Appointment:At-Large
Categories:(5) Five appointed by the City of San Antonio; (3) Three appointed by Bexar County Commissioners Court; and (2)Two appointed by Suburban Mayors. The Chair of the Board is elected by the Board members and serves a two-year term.
Mission/Purpose:VIA Metropolitan Transit owns, manages and operates the local transit system under the authority found in Chapter 451 of the Texas Transportation Code.
Meeting Schedule & Location:The VIA Board of Trustees meet at 5PM on the fourth Tuesday of the month, except during the months of November and December at which time the meetings are on a holiday schedule. The meetings are held in the VIA Metro Center Board Room located at 1021 San Pedro, San Antonio, Texas.
Website Information:For more information, please visit:

Liaison: Debra Longoria - (210) 299-5873

NameDistrictAppointed DateDate Expires
Mr. Robert L. Comeaux At Large06/30/201612/31/2019
Mr. Ezra Johnson At Large04/12/201812/31/2020
Ms. Athalie D. Malone At Large09/12/201912/31/2019
Ms. Amanda Merck At Large04/12/201812/31/2020
Mrs. Kristi Garza Villanueva At Large01/31/201912/31/2020

Total Members for VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority: 5 City of San Antonio - Agenda Details Printable Version